In Virginia, the process of designation is entirely voluntary on the part of the hospitals. It is meant to identify those hospitals that will make a commitment to provide a higher level of care for the multiple injured patients and who welcome public acknowledgment of that capability. Knowledge of trauma care capabilities, with improved field categorization and prehospital capabilities through trauma triage plans will help all those involved in the trauma care delivery system make decisions that are in the best interest of the patient.

Virginia Trauma Center standards are based upon national standards put forth by the American College of Surgeons and the American College of Emergency Physicians. The Virginia standards are reviewed and updated based on changes in the national standards as well as the evolving needs of the Trauma System in Virginia.

Read more about Virginia Trauma Designation

Level I trauma centers have an organized trauma response and are required to provide total care for every aspect of injury, from prevention through rehabilitation. These facilities must have adequate depth of resources and personnel with the capability of providing leadership, education, research, and system planning.

Level II trauma centers have an organized trauma response and are also expected to provide initial definitive care, regardless of the severity of injury. The specialty requirements may be fulfilled by on call staff that is promptly available to the patient. Due to limited resources, Level II centers may have to transfer more complex injuries to a Level I center. Level II centers should also take on responsibility for education and system leadership within their region.

Level III trauma centers, through an organized trauma response, can provide prompt assessment, resuscitation, stabilization, emergency operations and also arrange for the transfer of the patient to a facility that can provide definitive trauma care. Level III centers should also take on responsibility for education and system leadership within their region.

Hospital Address Trauma Level
CJW Medical Center 7101 Jahnke Road, Richmond 23225 Level I
Inova Fairfax Hospital 3300 Gallows Road, Falls Church 22042 Level I
University of Virginia Medical Center 1215 Lee Street, Charlottesville 22903 Level I
Sentara Norfolk General Hospital 600 Gresham Drive, Norfolk 23507 Level I & Burn
Carilion Medical Center 1906 Belleview Avenue, Roanoke 24014 Level I & Pediatric
VCU Medical Center 1250 East Marshall Street, Richmond 23298 Level I, Burn & Pediatric
Centra Health 1920 Atherholt Road, Lynchburg 24502 Level II
Henrico Doctors' Hospital 1602 Skipwith Road, Richmond 23229 Level II
Mary Washington Hospital 1001 Sam Perry Boulevard, Fredericksburg 22401 Level II
Reston Hospital Center 1850 Town Center Parkway, Reston 20190 Level II
Riverside Regional Medical Center 500 J. Clyde Morris Boulevard, Newport News 23601 Level II
Valley Health Winchester Medical Center 1840 Amherst Street, Winchester 22601 Level II
Virginia Hospital Center 1701 N. George Mason Drive, Arlington 22205 Level II
Bon Secours Southside Medical Center 200 Medical Park Boulevard, Petersburg 23805 Level III
Carilion New River Valley Hospital 2900 Lamb Circle, Christiansburg 24073 Level III
Inova Loudoun Hospital 44045 Riverside Parkway, Leesburg 20176 Level III
LewisGale Hospital Montgomery 3700 South Main Street, Blacksburg 24060 Level III
Sentara Northern Virginia Medical Center 2300 Opitz Boulevard, Woodbridge 22191 Level III
Sentara Virginia Beach General Hospital 1060 First Colonial Road, Virginia Beach 23454 Level III
Children's Hospital of The King's Daughters 601 Children's Lane, Norfolk 23507 Pediatric

Updated on: 6/14/2023